no-churn blueberry cheesecake ice cream

my mother-in-law is a really amazing lady. in the years since i have become part of her family, she has approached my birthday with the knowledge of the best of friends — somehow presenting me with the perfect gifts, things i would have picked out for myself.

it’s really humbling and cool.

one year, when my birthday fell again during an unpleasantly-warm heatwave, she brought a large box wrapped in birthday paper to dinner at one of our favorite local pizzerias. it was an ice cream maker! it was such an amazing surprise and spoiled me so much! obviously i read recipes like it’s my job, and had passed over ice cream recipes for years… because i didn’t have the machine to make it happen. so, so sad. homemade ice cream is heaven. it tastes like the epic 4th of July cookouts my grandparents held every year on their farm, where creamy vanilla ice cream from the rattling, cranking ice cream machine was the highlight of the feast (my opinion — and obviously the correct opinion). it tastes like chills from the ice cream and from cool Oregon summer nights, teeth chattering, watching fireworks spout their colorful sparks into the air.

well. my ice cream maker is fabulous, and i am a lucky girl! but if you don’t have one — you should really be able to make your own creamy, delicious homemade ice cream, too! this method couldn’t be easier, no special equipment required. i’ve made no-churn ice cream before and it can tend to get a little icy, but this is nothing but creamy, dreamy and rich ice cream. the brown sugar and cream cheese lend a wonderful cheesecake-like flavor, and the blueberry syrup shines in every bite. you can work with summer’s blueberries, if it’s that time of year, or you can work from frozen, which means you can make this any time!

and you should.

blueberry cheesecake ice cream

makes about 1 quart
adapted from thepastryaffair

1 1/2 cups blueberries, fresh or frozen
1/4 cup sugar
1 tsp cornstarch
6 oz cream cheese, room temperature
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 cups chilled heavy whipping cream
2 tsp vanilla

combine blueberries and sugar in a small saucepan and cook, stirring occasionally, over medium-high until berries burst. this could take around 10 minutes. add cornstarch and cook for 1 – 2 minutes until thickened. remove from heat and cool (a trip to the fridge or freezer and occasional stirrings speed up this process, or make-ahead, cover and chill).

in the bowl of  a stand mixer, beat cream cheese and brown sugar until smooth. add 1/2 cup heavy cream and whip to incorporate, scraping sides of bowl if needed. add the remainder of the cream and vanilla and whip until stiff peaks form. (then, stop the mixer and take a taste! ohhh man)

spread half the whipped cream mixture into a 1-quart-or-so airtight container.. top with half the blueberry mixture.. the rest of the whipped cream, then remaining blueberries. swirl the ice cream to partially mix, using the blade of a knife. cover and freeze at least 6 hours, or overnight. you’ve made ice cream!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “no-churn blueberry cheesecake ice cream

  1. Oh my goodness! I think that I need to make this ice cream this weekend!! I have an ice cream maker, but have yet to find a super delicious recipe. Thanks for sharing :)

  2. suzanne reingans says:

    Sophie, you cook foods I love. How do you do it? I think that whatever you put your heart into, you accomplish. The ice cream was delicious.

  3. I can’t tell you HOW excited I am to try this.. and how excited I am to have found your blog. I love your writing, and your recipes all look amazing. I am an old “friend” of Hannah’s… and she had shared this recipe. I am now signed up for your e-mail updates… so I won’t miss the things you share. Love it!

  4. Tori Glass says:

    I want this! But I might wait another month and sub the blueberries for blackberries. Nom. :)

  5. kat says:

    that’s looks amazing!!

  6. we have two in our abode! he likes his full of dairy doom while mine needs to be sorbet or with coconut milk. either way, it’s a wonderful treat to have! we recently purchased a waffle cone maker, we’re in the process of unpacking & organizing but when that is done, we’ll be having ice cream socials galore!

    • i’m jealous! i’d love to have a waffle-cone maker… i pass up those recipes now and then and think, phooey. i can’t make ‘em. we dont even have a waffle iron, currently! ours died… we need a new one. ps: mmmm sorbet!

  7. Sophie says:

    Yum! That’s a great & neat idea to make ice cream with these lovely ingredients!
    Yum Yum Yum!

  8. [...] if you are on a blueberry kick and have leftovers from the pancakes, I’m dying to make this: No Churn Blueberry-Cheesecake Ice Cream from Dinners For [...]

  9. gelaikuting says:

    oh boy! I’m craving for a blueberry ice creeeaaaammmm…

  10. [...] Recipe available at Dinners For Winners [...]

  11. […] with a tempting no-churn ice cream recipe for y’all! I’ve visited this technique before with blueberries, but I thought the diced peaches with crumbles of vanilla wafer cookies in this ice cream are […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 221 other followers

